Chaplaincy Everywhere

Chaplain Kammer

Chaplain Kammer by Herald Post on Flickr. Some rights reserved.

Chaplains are official representatives of the church who bear God’s love in all sorts of areas of life outside the church. Schools, hospitals, shopping centres, prisons, football clubs, the armed services and many more you’ve never thought about.

Chaplaincy isn’t just for ordained ministers, either. Regular, committed church members can be chaplains, too.

Read and download the Chaplaincy Everywhere report, which also contains reference to an accessible training course.

7 thoughts on “Chaplaincy Everywhere

  1. There is a significant difference between armed forces chaplaincy and what the report is discussing as a future model for being church in the community. Interestingly it has little say about the nature of armed forces, and especially army, chaplaincy.

    Peter Howson

    Jesus: A gift for all time.

    ________________________________

  2. I have been looking for something like this for a while and have just downloaded this course. It looks very interesting, thank you.

    I enjoy, and value, my role on our hospital chaplaincy team and would love to extend this to other areas. There was even a suggestion once that I could be a circuit chaplain, but I think that was on the assumption I got through the candidating process. In spite of what people have said to me, it seems there are still more opportunities for ordained chaplains.

  3. I have just found a copy of the talk on Chaplaincy that Leo Osborn gave to the SE synod, if any local person wants it.
    I’m glad I kept it.

  4. I have worked with many chaplains in the US Navy and in hospitals. I do think that they have different roles, but I value both. I do wish that they could/would be more evangelistic in their approach, but they do good work.

    • In what way, Dan?
      I don’t know about Navy chaplains but it’s not our place to be evangelistic. Not overtly so, anyway. We can witness by deeds, praying with someone may give us an opportunity to speak of God’s love and care and if we are asked why someone has suffered we may have an opportunity to share our faith, but we are not on the wards to evangelise. In fact doing so might put people off and actually reflect badly on the chaplaincy team – i.e by giving the impression that we are forcing religion on them.

      • I don’t argue with your point, especially in the hospital setting, but in the military, our chaplains are our pastors, not just counselors. This is something I find very frustrating and in fact, we often end up easing ourselves away from the ministry of the chaplain and into our own small groups.

        As to how it might reflect on the chaplain team, shouldn’t the goal be to bring others into a relationship with Christ? Why this concern about how the world sees us (you?)? If you don’t share because you don’t want to offend, how will you ever get to share?

      • Thanks for this, Dan. Interesting to hear about Navy chaplains, I hope you feel less frustrated, or find a way to resolve things soon.

        Re the chaplaincy team; I probably didn’t explain myself too well. The guidelines, which the Chaplain is very firm on, say that any approach should be patient/relative led. So if someone asked me what I believe, how I can trust God in suffering, if I would explain the Gospel or simply if I could pray with them, I could, and would – gladly, (and have done.)
        But I don’t promise someone that I will pray for their healing, for example. For one thing, they may not believe in God or want prayer; for another, I don’t know that God wants to heal that particular person – I am based in intensive care where people are generally really ill. Nor do I tell people how they can go to heaven, or know God. The Chaplain wouldn’t do this herself, and would likely be displeased with any of us who did.

        The one occasion where sharing the Gospel is appropriate is in leading a Sunday service. Or, as I say, if someone asks.

Leave a Reply

